Asad Abdulla, Dorothy Abrams, Aaron Brooks, Seth Green, Ali Jooma, Imran Manji, Corey Moore, Alexa Payton, Natalie Schonefeld and Matthew Wiegel were selected by the BBA Program for inclusion into the 2012 Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, based on a combination of contributions to the classroom, the BBA Program, Emory University and the larger community.

Erika Rief BBA13, received the 2011 Philip H. and Suzi Rudd Cohen Student Exemplar of Excellence presented by Hillel: The Foundation for Jewish Campus Life. The award is given annually to five students who have displayed exemplary leadership on their respective campuses by inspiring others to act and lead, building meaningful relationships, fostering innovation and creativity, and modeling and inspiring Jewish growth.

Callie Jordan BBA12, was awarded a Fulbright grant to be an English teaching assistant at two high schools in Vienna.

Ishaan Jalan BBA14, founder of TEDxEmory, organized one of the largest TEDx events at the university level on April 21 with 15 speakers from Emory and across the nation who gave talks on ideas about the world, where it is going and how students can take it into their own hands.

Amanda Jacobson BBA13, Tommy Tran BBA13 and Hongtao Lenny Zhang BBA12, were the winning team in the 6th annual Advanced Challenge, sponsored by the Goizueta Business Library, earning a subscription to the Economist magazine. BBAs that complete six Business Essentials classes are eligible to participate in this annual spring event.

Asad Abdulla BBA 12 and Stephen Ratner BBA12, received the  Humanitarian Award from the Emory University community.  The Muslim Student Association, of which Asad is president, won the Large Student Organization of the Year.  The Interfaith Art Gala – sponsored by Hillel and the Muslim Student Association – won the Social Program of the Year. Asad was awarded College Council President of the Year.

The Emory Chapter of the Make-A-Wish-Foundation, founded by Ian Steinberg BBA12, succeeded in raising $7000 over the past three years to give a game room to a terminally ill child in Griffin, Ga.

In honor of 4th Annual Weekend of Twinning, an international movement aimed at strengthening Muslim and Jewish relations, the Children of Abraham, a joint initiative between the Emory Muslim Student Association (Asad Abdulla BBA12, president)  and Emory Hillel (Alexis Berkow BBA13, president) served 100 Clarkston refugees  hot meals. They also toured an Atlanta mosque and synagogue.

Senior forward Zach Samuels BBA12, was named to the all-University Athletic Association (UAA) First Team for his performance during the 2011 season. Junior defender/midfielder David Garofalo BBA13, was named to the all-UAA second team, while junior defender Alex Scott BBA13, earned honorable mention to the all-UAA teams.

Natalie Schoenfeld BBA12, has been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-America Team for the 2011 season.

Lee Bachouros BBA13 and Caroline Coates BBA12, both team captains of the Emory Women’s Soccer team, made it to the round of 16 in the NCAA National Tournament.

Michael Seidman BBA12, led Emory’s Healing Spaces Student Leaders in Community Entrepreneurship (SLICE) in creating three Dream Bedroom Projects for low-income children battling a serious illness.

The following BBA seniors were elected to Mortar Board, a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service

  • Allison Toba Daniels
  • Shikha Kumari Jerath
  • Laura Elizabeth Lambie-Hanson
  • Xi Angie Wang
  • Tess Marie Wilkins

Tess Wilkins was inducted into the Dobbs Society, the highest award a member of the residential community may receive at Emory.

Seniors Daniel Kolb and Paul Weinstein of the Emory University Swimming and Diving Team have each been awarded one of four prestigious NCAA Postgraduate Scholarships, based on their achievements both in and out of the pool during their time with the program. Each  will receive a one-time $7,500 scholarship, to be used for postgraduate study within three years.

Matthew Gaynes has been awarded the Sudler Prize in the Arts, given  annually to the graduating senior who has demonstrated the highest standard of proficiency in one or more of the performing or creative arts.

Basketball forward Corey Spraggins won the Thomas McDonough Award, presented to the male and female varsity athlete who have made positive contributions to the Emory community as a student, athlete and citizen.

Volleyball captain Natalie Marie Schonefeld received the Ralph and Russell Bridges Award presented to the outstanding all-around male and female varsity athlete.

Callie Jordan is the recipient of the German Studies Award for Excellence, the highest honor the department bestows on a student of German, given to a student who has demonstrated a long-term commitment to the study of German and to the German Studies Department.   In addition, the Emory College Language Center recognized Callie with its Excellence Award.

Christine Wasmuth received the Excellence in Language Studies award, presented to one student in each language offered at Emory College.

Congratulations to our BBA students graduating with Emory College Honors: High Honors in Applied Mathematics: Dylan Michael Connor, Highest Honors in Economics: Gregory Robert Borys, Highest Honors in Music: Hyeon Ju Lee, and Highest Honors in Philosophy: Richard Frank Walker