Clients and students gather to celebrate the 21st edition of GMSC at Goizueta Business School on May 10. PHOTO: Tony Benner

The Goizueta Marketing Strategy Consultancy finished its 21st year of competition May 10 hosting client presentations and rewarding teams of MBA students for their work on real-life consulting challenges.

Six teams of first-year MBA candidates and members of the One-Year MBA class of 2012 went head-to-head at the GMSC Presentation Day Competition. For the past semester, teams worked to help clients including Focus BrandsThe Weather ChannelMohawk IndustriesWellpointUCB and GE solve a marketing strategy challenge. Competing teams presented findings and recommendations to a panel of Atlanta-area marketing, finance and consulting executives.

More than 130 marketing professional from the Atlanta area came to GBS for the day to serve as judges for the presentations.

Javier Goizueta, Vice President of The Coca-Cola Company and President of the global McDonald’s Division also gave a keynote address at the event.

GMSC clients pay a fee to work with a team of MBA students eager to apply professional, life and classroom experience to an assigned problem. Students spend approximately 10 hours per week creating a 35-50 page final report including a situational overview, an industry and competitor analysis, findings from secondary and primary research, strategic and tactical recommendations, financial justifications and implementation plans.

Best Recommendation Paper Award

Runner up: UCB (Brianne Marshall, Jia Chen, Marissa Craighead, Mike Summers, Robert Martin, Seetha Modi, Shreesh Sharma, Team Guide: Dave Siegmund)

Winner: Mohawk (Daniela Maignon, David Katzman, Heather Oravec, Jon Hall, Julie Ferguson, Tatsuto Edahiro, Vivek Malhotra, Team Guide: Tanvi Duggal)

Best Presentation

Runner up: The Weather Channel (Abhisek Singh, Amanda Goodman, Anirban Ghosh, Daniel Trahant, Denny Watson, Nicole Gilzenrat, Katie Grape, Cassy York, Team Guide: Jeff Hong)

Winner: FOCUS Brands (Amber Graddick, Ben Jarrett, Bharat Mirchandani, Marisa Kowalsky, Matthew Westcot, Miguel Saudi, Nelie Zanca, Nitant Soares, Team Guide: Ankit Joshi)