Faculty Headshots
Several faculty members were honored with teaching awards for the 2010-2011 academic year at Goizueta Business School.

Each year numerous awards are bestowed on faculty members at Goizueta Business School with emphasis on their roles in the classroom. For the 2010-2011 academic year, professors from multiple academic areas and programs were honored.

In February, Reshma Shah (pictured top row, fourth from right) and  Bill Tayler (top row, left) received Crystal Apple Awards from the Emory Residence Hall Association. Described as “the single most important accolade presented to faculty by students for their exceptional teaching ability,” the Crystal Apples are determined by a panel from student nominations.

This spring, Jeff Rosensweig (top row, second from left) received the Emory Williams Teaching Award — the oldest teaching award at the university. Nominations are made by a committee, reviewed by the Dean’s Office and submitted to the Provost for approval.  Rosensweig is also director of the global perspectives program at Goizueta.

Also in the spring, Rick Gilkey (top row, middle) was honored as the recipient of the 2011 Marc F. Adler Teaching Prize. The award “honors a faculty member’s ability to combine outstanding teaching with innovation in the classroom and relevance to real-world problem solving.

In a letter to the Goizueta community, Dean Larry Benveniste also recognized award winners selected by students of each business school program:

  • BBA Distinguished Educator: Manish Tripathi (second row, left)
  • MBA Teaching Excellence/Classic Faculty: Ray Hill (top row, right)
  • MBA Teaching Excellence /Junior Faculty: Ryan Hamilton (second row, right)
  • EvMBA Distinguished Core Educator: Rich Makadok (bottom row, second from left)
  • EvMBA Distinguished Elective Educator: Charlie Goetz (bottom row, middle)
  • MEMBA Distinguished Educator: Shehzad Mian (bottom row, left)
  • WEMBA Distinguished Educator: Rob Kazanjian (bottom row, fourth from left)
  • WEMBA Distinguished Educator: Jeff Rosensweig

Finally, Beneveniste recognized two members of the school for service. The 2011 Keough Awards for Outstanding Contributions to the school were awarded to Barbara Wonnenberg and Roy Black (bottom row, right).  Named for former Coca-Cola President and COO, Donald R. Keough, the award is the school’s highest service honor designed to “recognize extraordinary contributions by faculty and staff.”

Previous articlePersonifying The Goizueta Advantage
Next articleGoizueta in the News: May 12, 2011
We offer insights from Emory University's Goizueta Business School. EmoryBusiness.com is an extension of a long-standing print publication of the same name.